how you can delete your social media account

What if it’s a good time to leave Facebook? The past year has rarely exposed the dark side of Mark Zukeberg’s company, its detrimental impact on society and, what is even more boring, the will of its leaders to privilege profits at the expense of their democratic responsibility.

Due to several antitrust investigations in Europe and the United States, Facebook could be ordered to reorganize its activities and show greater transparency in the future. Without waiting for their outcome, the company has already given a new impetus to the image of its brand by renaming its parent company Meta, in relation to its recent orientation towards the metaverse. That didn’t stop her from being named the worst company in 2021 in a poll commissioned by Yahoo Finance.

Whether you are concerned about your online privacy or just want to disconnect from social media, in this article we will explain how to get rid of your Facebook account.

Leaving Facebook is not an easy feat. In the seventeen years of its existence, the first of the social networks has more or less visibly introduced itself into the private lives of its users. Deleting your account is not necessarily enough to delete all traces left on the company’s servers. You also need to consider the connections you have with other applications in its ecosystem: do you want to leave Messenger, Instagram or WhatsApp?

How to deactivate your account

There are two ways to delete your Facebook account. But only one is final. Facebook gives you the option to deactivate your account or delete it forever. The first is reversible and allows the account to be reactivated at any time. The second is permanent action.

In either case, you need to go to the “Your Facebook Information” section by clicking on the triangle in the upper right corner of the Facebook homepage and then “Settings and Privacy.” Then select the “Deactivate and Delete” section.

Then two options are offered. The first, “Disable Account”, allows you to put your account in sleep mode, in order to make it offline in some way. Your name and photos will no longer appear on the platform, but you can continue to use Messenger. Some information will remain visible, such as messages you send to your friends. You can reactivate your account by logging in with your usual username and password.

How to permanently delete your account

To permanently delete your account, you must select another option. For a long time, this feature was not directly available in social network settings. It was necessary to go through the help pages of the service, according to a more tedious process.

From now on just click “Delete Account”. This action is final, warns Facebook. Once you delete your account, you can no longer download content or information you have shared on Facebook. Your Messenger account and all your messages are also deleted. Just like your Oculus account and the apps you bought.

After deleting the Facebook account, the user has 30 days to cancel his decision

Credit: Facebook

If you choose this option, Facebook will remind you of the consequences of this action and suggest that you download an archive of your data (in the process we will describe in the next article). This will allow you to keep your photos or the history of your conversations, for example. You must click on “Delete Account” followed by a confirmation dialog for the deletion to take effect.

You have thirty days to cancel the procedure by reconnecting to your account thereafter. After a month, the deletion will be irreversible. You will need to create a new account if you want to return to Facebook.

Facebook also specifies that deleting all user-added content can take up to three months to permanently delete. And “even after 90 days, copies of your information may still be in a backup system that allows us to recover your data in the event of a disaster, software error or other event resulting in data loss,” the company said. In addition, in some cases, Facebook may retain your information due to legal issues, violations of our terms and conditions, or risk prevention.

The editors recommend

RTL news in your inbox.

Thanks to your RTL account, subscribe to the RTL info newsletter to follow all the news on a daily basis

Leave a Comment