Home Schooling

“Communities, let’s take action against fuel poverty!” »

Since 2020, the economic and health crisis of COVID-19 together with rising energy prices have deepened energy poverty. In 2022, in the context of geopolitical tension and war in Ukraine, this health crisis will be replaced by a major energy and social crisis. An unprecedented situation that has never been equaled and which hits hard for all French people and even more for the 12 million people in fuel poverty.

Let’s face our responsibilities

Due to rising energy prices, more and more households are opting out of paying their bills or opting to go without heating to cut costs. This everyday reality of the humblest is unbearable. We, local authorities, guarantors of social policies and especially ministries, leaders in the fight against energy poverty, have a responsibility to protect them and help them overcome this impasse. Our mission: to organize prevention so that this unacceptable number of 12 million finally stops increasing, by accelerating the identification of affected households. But also to establish effective systems by managing all players in social work and home renovation and providing support adapted to each person’s situation.

Slime: the solution to action

Solutions exist within our reach. This is the case of the Slime program, piloted by CLER-Réseau for the energy transition since 2013. Slime is a territorial engineering facility based on methodology, tools, funding and support to establish an ambitious policy to fight fuel poverty in each territory according to its specifics. Principle: coordinate the detection of households, perform socio-technical diagnostics at their homes, then direct them to appropriate systems and actors, with enhanced support for the most vulnerable households. By centralizing the identification of households, the program facilitates the mobilization of all actors of the territory and the search for solutions adapted to the reality on the ground.

Join the program!

Today, 40 local authorities are already involved in the program and support more than 12,000 households every year. Because the urgency to act has never been stronger, we are calling on all local authorities – EPCI, cities, departments and regions – to get involved in the Slime programme. Fuel poverty is not inevitable. It is up to us, local authorities, to take up the challenge of social justice and decent housing for all.

List of signatories of this forum:

  • Olivier Capitano, President of the Val de Marne Department Council
  • Jean-Luc Gleyze, President of the Gironde Department Council
  • Olivier Richefou, President of the Council of the Department of Mayenne
  • François Cuillandre, Mayor of Brest and President of Brest Métropole
  • Maël de Calan, President of the Finistère Departmental Council
  • Carole Delga, President of the Occitanie Regional Council
  • Jean-Pierre Chabriat, Regional Councilor responsible for higher education, research and energy transformation of the Régional Council of La Réunion
  • Muriel Cherrier, vice-president responsible for integration, housing and habitat of the Aude department council.
  • Laure Curvale, Vice-President responsible for ecological transition and heritage of the Gironde Department Council
  • Jérôme Alemany, Vice-President responsible for local social action, integration and the fight against exclusion in the Loire-Atlantique department
  • Christian Bastid, Deputy Vice-President of the Council of the Gard Department for Habitats, Housing and Urban Renewal
  • Anne Voituriez, deputy vice-president for housing and habitats of the European metropolis of Lille
  • Pascal Pras, Vice President of Sustainable Urban Planning, Urban Projects and Housing at Nantes Métropole
  • Sylvie Guignard, vice-president responsible for living in habitats, urban policy and prevention of the agglomeration of Saint-Brieuc Armor
  • Jean-Luc Gouyette, vice-president responsible for housing and urban planning of the urban community of Lamballe Terre & Mer
  • Nicolas Kada, Vice-President responsible for housing for the Community of Communes of Couesnon Marches de Bretagne
  • René-Pierre Halter, Vice-President responsible for energy and mobility of the Community of Crestois and Pays de Saillans-Coeur de Drôme
  • Annaïck Chauvet, representative responsible for energy transformation, buildings and technical resources for the city of Besançon
  • Maria Da Silva, Deputy Mayor of Montfermeil
  • Guillaume Coutey, Mayor of Malaunay and Councilor of the Seine Maritime Department

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button